Skip to Main Content

29 Palms Personal and Professional Development LibGuide: Family Member Employment Assistance

FAMILY MEMBER EMPLOYEE ASSISTANCE PROGRAM

 

Family members who are seeking employment opportunities may obtain assistance through FMEAP, which provides information on seeking and obtaining employment within the local labor market.  FMEAP can help family members prepare for a successful job interview, draft a functional resume, and learn to dress for employment success.  Participants can also complete Microsoft Office Specialist (MOS) training and take the national certification exam at no-cost.  An Internet-ready lab with printing capabilities is available for patron job search and career development.  Spouses are encouraged to attend the quarterly Spouse Transition and Readiness Seminar (STARS) to meet with subject matter experts (employment, relocation, financial, medical, the Distribution Management Office (DMO), etc.) who can support them as they prepare to transition from military service.

The Family Member Employment Assistance Program (FMEAP) provides employment-related referral services,  career coaching, job search guidance, portable career opportunities, and education center referrals/guidance. With that being said, we are proud to announce our new 2022 initiative to assist family members with assimilating into the workforce development culture. This initiative is multi-faceted as it will act as a catalyst for advertising services, outreach strategies, community partnership, educational resources, entrepreneur opportunities, work-from-home, specialized skills training, transportation services, self-employment resources,child care, employment services for adults with disabilities, financial management counseling, education, or assistance. Additionally, the FMEAP will continue its efforts of disseminating information through the local procedures regarding employment resources and career education and training, and career coaching.

• Employment Resources: Weekly email distribution job board (regularly more than 30+ emails with multiple vacancies within each email), links for pertinent companies, agencies, and job sources. Handouts and points of contact literature for other employment Centers such as the following Career One Stop, California Employment Development Department (CA EDD) offices, and spouse-centered employment agencies ((SECO, MSEP, Military One Source, MSCCN, MyNextMove, MyCAA)).

• Career Education and Training & Career Coaching: one-on-one client services and appointments that encompass anything/everything from how to create a resume, how to enhance or target a resume, what steps are needed to reach an employment goal (including education and training, how to successfully interview and follow up post-interview, how to learn about local job markets; self-assessment(s) regarding career choice(s) and goal(s); labor market trends via BLS (Bureau Labor Statistics) website; ONET (regarding veterans) - all done with client/showing them the website navigation and then printing out pertinent information for each client.

FAMILY MEMBER EMPLOYMENT ASSISTANCE PROGRAM WORKSHOPS

All classes will be held in building 1526, CRO Classroom, starting at 1 PM.  REGISTRATION IS REQUIRED

To register for any class, please email Gillian.Luera@usmc.mil with the following information:

Full name, date of class, and name of the class that you would like to be registered to attend.

REGISTRATION FOR ALL CLASSES CLOSES THE DAY BEFORE THE CLASS SESSION.

 


February 22, 2024 | Salary Negotiation Tactics and Effective Job Offer Valuation


March 21, 2024 | STARS - Spouse Transition & Readiness Seminar


March 28, 2024 | Career Advancement Accounts


Register for Upcoming MVP Events

Qr code

Description automatically generated

REMOTE JOB OPPORTUNITIES

Are you interested in working remotely from your home? Then look no further.  Please click on the hyperlink below to find out what job opportunities interest you. “The future we envision for work allows for infinite virtual workspaces that will unlock social and economic opportunities for people regardless of barriers like physical location. It will take time to get there, and we continue to build toward this.” – Andrew Bosworth, VP Facebook Reality Labs

 

USAJOBS REMOTE OPPORTUNITIES

INDEED REMOTE OPPORTUNITIES

GLASSDOOR REMOTE OPPORTUNITIES

MONSTER.COM REMOTE OPPORTUNITIES

LINKEDIN REMOTE OPPORTUNITIES

FLEXJOBS REMOTE OPPORTUNITIES

TRANSITION ASSISTANCE PROGRAM ONLINE WEBINARS FOR FAMILY MEMBERS

Select “Family Member “ in the TAP Curriculum drop-down menu on the right side of the page.

Mental Health for Families

This course explains how to identify local services and community organizations that can provide assistance and aid to service members and their loved ones.

Survivor and Casualty Assistance Resources

This course provides an overview on VA and DoD survivor benefits and eligibility, and what to do in the event of a loss.

Transitioning to Federal Employment

This course is for US Service members interested in continuing their service through Federal Employment. It provides information, tools, and links that will help you complete your journey from your military career to a civilian position in the Federal Government. You’ll learn through the eyes of Teresa, a recently separated veteran who is looking for a job in the Federal Government.

The course has 5 steps, plus an introduction to Federal Employment. Step 1: Gather Your Intel. Step 2: Identify Employment Opportunities. Step 3: Focus Your Search. Step 4: Continue the Mission. Step 5: Complete the Mission.

VA Education Benefits for Spouses and Dependent Children

This course communicates relevant information about education benefits, including Post-9/11 GI Bill benefits, that can help families, and caregivers pay for tuition, housing, books, and supplies costs through the VA education and training benefits available to them.

VA Home Loan Guaranty Program

This course offers a general overview of the VA Home Loan Guaranty Program including eligibility, processes, costs, and other available resources.

Vet Centers

This course describes how to connect with local Vet Centers and how service members, Veterans, and their loved ones can use Vet Centers as a free resource.

BOOTS TO BUSINESS DATES

EXTRA, EXTRA. READ ALL ABOUT IT

Entrepreneurial education and training program for transitioning service members and their spouses!

COMING SOON TO TWENTYNINE PALMS. CALL 760-830-4033 OR 760-830-7225 TO REGISTER.

 

BOOTS TO BUSINESS: WHAT’S YOUR TRANSITION MISSION?

UPCOMING 2024 DATES

 

Do you have an interest in owning a small business? Veterans have the character, discipline, and skills needed to succeed as small business owners and entrepreneurs. Wondering what it takes and how you can prepare? Boots to Business can help.

MORONGO UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT CAREER TECHNICAL EDUCATION

FREE CAREER TECHNICAL EDUCATION (FOR ADULTS AND HIGH SCHOOLERS)

Career Technical Education (CTE) provides quality, hands-on training programs to high school students and adults. CTE prepares students to be career ready, technically skilled, and academically prepared. Course content is validated by local business advisory committees, reflecting current industry standards.       

Free Classes offered through Morongo Unified School District to High School Students & Adults Free

For More Information:
Christy Bong, CTE Specialist
christy.bong@morongo.k12.ca.us
760-228-1162, ext. 3421
Isaac Hirales, Director of Secondary Curriculum
isaac.hirales@morongo.k12.ca.us
760-367-9191, ext. 4223

 

FAMILY MEMBER EMPLOYEE ASSISTANCE PROGRAM AND SPOUSE EDUCATION & CAREER OPPORTUNITIES

1. Your Installation Family Member Employment Assistance Program (FMEAP)

Located at all Marine Corps Bases, you can expect our highly trained FMEAP team members to assist family members, active duty, reservists, retirees, and civilians with achieving their personal and professional goals through employment, education, or volunteering.  Our installations offer a wide variety of workshops such as Resume Writing, Skills Assessments, etc, to ensure that you are successful in obtaining employment.  All of these opportunities are FREE of charge and can make any employment endeavor a little less complicated and give you the confidence to apply for the position you seek.

2. Spouse Education & Career Opportunities (SECO)

The SECO Program provides expert education and career guidance to military spouses worldwide. Call the SECO Career Center at 800-324-9647 to connect with corporations, government organizations, and non-profits to gain meaningful, long-term, portable employment. 

  • The Military Spouse Employment Partnership connects military spouses to more than 180 partner employers who have pledged to recruit, hire, promote, and retain military spouses in portable careers. To help with their introduction, spouses are encouraged to self-identify when contacting or applying with these employment partners.
  • Military Spouse eMentor Program - An online community where spouses connect with experienced spouses, career mentors, and employers to receive career guidance, advice, and support.
  • The MySECO Scholarship Database makes searching for scholarships fast and easy. Use the database to find scholarships and grants offered specifically for military spouses, service members, and college-bound dependent children.
  • My Career Advancement Account Overview –The MyCAA Scholarship offers up to $4,000 of financial assistance to eligible military spouses who are pursuing a license/certification, certificate, or associate degree in a portable career field and occupation. Spouses of active duty service members in pay grades E-1 to E-6, W-1 to W-2, and O-1 to O-3 on Title 10 military orders are eligible for the scholarship. 

For more information on the Family Member Employment Assistance Program, click here.


Military Spouse Career Accelerator Program

Military spouses of currently serving members of the U.S. Army, Marine Corps, Navy, Air Force, and Space Force, including active, reserve, and National Guard components, are invited to apply to the new Military Spouse Career Accelerator Pilot, a multi-year program that provides spouses with paid 12-week fellowships at employers across various industries and locations.

For more information and to register, please visit https://myseco.militaryonesource.mil/portal/events/live/mscap.


Military Spouse Employment Partnership Job Search Navigator Service

We are excited to announce the new MSEP Job Search Navigator service! This value-added service is offered to military spouses once they have completed a series of designated career support services with a SECO career coach. The MSEP Job Search Navigator will then identify potential matches between the spouse and MSEP employers based on the spouse's geographic location, education, experience, and career goals and share a list of customized job leads to assist them in their search for employment.

For more information, please visit

https://myseco.militaryonesource.mil/portal/content/view/9890.

Pay for College with Scholarships Tailored Just for You!

Make college more affordable by using MySECO’s Scholarship Finder to search through more than 90 scholarships carefully chosen just for you. Browse our database of financial resources offered specifically to military spouses and family members to make paying for college fast and easy. Start now at https://myseco.militaryonesource.mil/portal/scholarships.

MICROSOFT OFFICE SPECIALIST CERTIFICATION

Microsoft Office Specialist Certification

Microsoft Office Specialist (MOS) certification, the premier Microsoft desktop certification, is a globally recognized standard for demonstrating desktop skills. The MOS program is helping meet the demand for qualified and knowledgeable people in the modern workplace. Exams are offered at CRO (Building 1526), 7th Street. For more information, please call 760-830-7225.

What is a Microsoft Office Specialist?

A Microsoft Office Specialist is an individual who has certified his or her skills in one or more of the Microsoft Office® desktop applications which include Microsoft Word®, Microsoft Excel®, Microsoft PowerPoint®, Microsoft Outlook® or Microsoft Access®. The Microsoft Office Specialist Program typically offers certification exams at the "Core" and "Expert" skill levels*. The Microsoft Office Specialist Program is the only Microsoft-approved program in the world for certifying proficiency in Microsoft Office desktop applications. This certification can be a valuable asset in any job search or career advancement. The program is open to Marines and Navy personnel and dependents 16+, plus Department of Defense workers.

Typing Courses & Test

At home or work strong typing skills are essential for making the most of every moment at the computer. Put an end to the frustration and wasted time with just fifteen minutes of practice a day! The leader in typing tutorial software for ten years running, Mavis Beacon Teaches Typing, delivers the customized training you need in a motivating and engaging format. Work at your own pace with lesson content that keeps you interested. This flexible program is an ideal choice for any would-be fluent typist, including students email enthusiasts, and office professionals. If you use the keyboard, you will benefit from Mavis Beacon. Do not waste one more minute hitting 'backspace!' Gain noticeable improvements in typing speed and accuracy in just two weeks and as little as fifteen minutes of practice per day. With Mavis Beacon Teaches Typing, better typing is guaranteed.

 Certified Typing Test Information

A typing certificate verifies a person's typing speed and accuracy and it is often required for applicants for legal assistant, medical assistant, or government positions. To become certified typists, candidates must pass a typing test; this usually consists of typing an unfamiliar text within a timeframe while avoiding errors and maintaining a minimum speed. The number of errors and minimum speed allowed vary depending on the organization issuing the certificate.

O*NET INTEREST PROFILER

The O*NET Interest Profiler can help you find out what your interests are and how they relate to the world of work. You can find out what you like to do.

The O*NET Interest Profiler helps you decide what kinds of careers you might want to explore.

Discover your interests to help you decide what kinds of careers you might want to explore.

Take the Interest Profiler Now!  

                                           

MILITARY SPOUSE EMPLOYMENT GUIDE

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Can the FMEAP find me employment?

FMEAP is not an employment agency and does not make job placements. However, FMEAP provides a liaison/referral service to local and national employers. Your area's current labor market, average salary, and wage trend.

How can the Family Member Assistance Program (FMEAP) assist me?

  • Learn about your area's current labor market, average salary, and wage trends.
  • Know the right questions to ask the employer during the interview.
  • Highlight resume accomplishments and adapt to various styles employers seek and/or what format may fit your situation.
  • Know effective negotiation techniques for salaries/wages and benefits.
  • Know how to fill the gap between periods of unemployment.
  • Offers services to meet the employment assistance needs of family members.
  • Helps identify goals and necessary steps to achieve them.
  • Provides job search guidance to focus on the important aspects of your job search plan.
  • Provides one-on-one employment assistance counseling.

How do I learn more about the Family Member Assistance Program (FMEAP)?

Family members can contact their local FMEAP offices at their respective Marine Corps locations. There are numerous effective family member programs available Corps-wide. FMEAP has many initiatives to help family members find employment after relocating with active-duty service members. For more information, call 760-830-7225 or 760-830-4030 or visit the Career Resource Office, Bldg. 1526.

MARINE CORPS EXCHANGE (MCX) INFORMATION TABLING

SAVE THE DATES: MARINE CORPS EXCHANGE (MCX) INFORMATION TABLING

All MCX tabling will be held in building the MCX, building 1502, from 11:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Dates to be determined.